How to use the Weight Distance Tax Report
(For best results, set video quality to 720p)
Setting up Equipment
Weight Distance information is set per individual piece of equipment.
This is done on the Equipment screen.
- Go to the Equipment tab, and select the Equipment you would like to add Weight Distance information for.
- Double-click the Equipment to open a new window, with detailed vehicle information. Click Edit.
- Entered the registered weight(s) of the vehicle in the Weight field (Not used in report calculations. This is simply a convenient place to record information).
- To set tax rates, click the Edit Rates button.
- Enter the year of registration for this Weight Distance Report (i.e. 2018).
- Select Jurisdiction or State (i.e. KY- Kentucky).
- Enter the Tax Rate based on your vehicles registered weight for that state.
- Note: Provided here is a link to an official government page that details how to find your correct Tax Rate.
- If you are finished, click the OK button.
- Or, click the “+” button if this vehicle also needs to file for another Weight Distance Tax Report, in another state, and repeat steps 4-7.
Running the Weight Distance Tax Report
After your equipment are set up, you can run Reports.
This is done on the Weight Distance Tax Report screen.
- Choose Jurisdiction in drop-down menu of jurisdictions (i.e. KY).
- Select Start Date in the drop-down calendar (i.e. April 1, 2018).
- Select End Date in the drop-down calendar (i.e. June 30, 2018).
- Click the Show Results button, the Print Results button, or Download to PDF/CSV.
Select the next Jurisdiction you need to calculate a Weight Distance Tax Report for, and repeat these steps.
The sequence of reports and when they have to be filed varies per state.
Kentucky: Filed quarterly, with the same deadline as IFTA reports.
New Mexico: Filed quarterly, with the same deadlines as IFTA reports – motor carriers must submit the report on or before the last day of the month, following the close of the reporting period. Even if you have not travelled through New Mexico, you must file a return. This requirement keeps carriers in compliance and helps you avoid non-filer penalties.
New York: Filed quarterly for the first year. Filed monthly if the first year’s HUT paid was over $4000.00.
Oregon: Filed monthly, but carriers can apply to file quarterly
- To be eligible for quarterly filing in Oregon, the account must have a 12 month filing history, and during those 12 months not had:
- A suspension related to reporting or payment of taxes or fees,
- A revocation of IFTA tax license,
- More than 25% of tax reports filed late,
- A repayment plan,
- A delinquency in payment of over-dimensional permit fees or road-use assessment fees.
- Also, within the the last 36 months, the account must not have had an audit that resulted in assessments exceeding reported fees by 15%